Congratulations FASTWÜRMS!!

Vtape’s New Governor General’s Award Winners.

One Vtape artist is among this year’s winners of the Governor General’s Lifetime Achievement Award in Visual and Media Arts: FASTWÜRMS. They join the 32 other artists whose works are in distribution at Vtape who have received the award since its inception in 1999.

Previous Vtape-distributed artists who are GG winners include; Bonnie Devine, Cheryl L’Hirondelle (2021); Deanna Bowen, Dana Claxton, Ruth Cuthand, Jorge Lozano, Zainub Verjee (2020); Stephen Andrews, Marlene Creates, Ali Kazimi, Andrew James Paterson (2019); Midi Onodera (2018); Mike Hoolboom, Shelagh Keeley, Shelley Niro (2017); Jayce Salloum (2014); Gordon Monahan (2013); Margaret Dragu, Jan Peacock (2012); Barbara Sternberg (2011); Tom Sherman (2010); Nobuo Kubota (2009); Tanya Mars, Eric Metcalfe (2008); Vera Frenkel (2006); Lisa Steele and Kim Tomczak, Paul Wong (2005); Eric Cameron, Istvan Kantor, John Oswald (2004); Tom Dean, and Jamelie Hassan (2001).

Image: FASTWÜRMS, WURMHOLE showing detail Crew Portrait #3 as part of DIORAMA, 1996, Cibachrome print. Installation.
Walter Phillips Gallery, Banff, Alberta.
Photo credit: FASTWÜRMS