Jan Peacock: A Video Retrospective

Jan Peacock

2009, 112:00 minutes, colour, English


In 2005, the Centre For Art Tapes (CFAT) Programming Committee decided on a new program that would highlight the work of senior members. This initiative would result over the next five years in five retrospective screenings with the production of a DVD of the work to document the event.

1. California Freeze-Out, 1980, 15:00
2. Wallace + Theresa, 1985, 8:30
3. (Bliss) (Dread) The Road Rises to Meet You, 1986, 6:20
4. SIRENSONG, 1987, 7:40
5. WHITEWASH, 1990, 15:00
6. Reader by the Window, 1993, 16:00
7. This walk, these steps, 1995, 5:00
8. Book of Chairs (excerpts), 1997, 15:00
9. One same, same thing, 2003, 7:30
10. Current Details (ongoing/silent), 2003, 5:00
11. Midnight Reader (ongoing), 2004, 4:00
12. Soaring With Dogs (ongoing/silent), 2008, 6:00

Total Length: 112 minutes

Includes catalogue with introduction by James MacSwain and essay "And when you look behind you" by Peggy Gale.

Rental and Sales

DVD Compilation Educational Purchase


Curators and programmers, please contact to receive a login and password to preview Vtape titles online.

Screening and exhibition rentals and archival acquisitions include public performance rights; educational purchases or licenses include rights for classroom screenings and library circulation. When placing an order the customer agrees to our general online terms and conditions. Payment (or a purchase order number) and a signed licensing agreement must be received before media can be shipped to the client.