Enlightened Nonsense (Series)

Deirdre Logue

2000, 22:00 minutes, colour, English


Enlightened Nonsense (1997-2000) is a series of 10 thematically related film works that were each shot, hand-processed and edited within a total of approximately one week. Each beginning with a specific action, the works express both the physical manifestation of different states of being and a desire to understand one's complex relationship to our psychological limitations. Sexual deception, humiliation, injury, fear and failure are common themes, however, humour plays a critical role. Though dark, there is a funny, nonsensical quality which provides distance from the complexity of this work as well as some comic relief.

List of works in order of appearance:
Patch, 2000, 0:40
Moohead, 1999, 1:00
Road Trip, 2000, 1:00
Always a Bridesmaid... Never A Bride of Frankenstein, 2000, 2:00
Scratch, 1998, 3:00
Sleep Study, 2000, 2:00
Milk and Cream, 2000, 2:00
Fall, 1997, 2:00

Rental and Sales

Educational Purchase DVD (Bluray +$15)


5 Year Educational Streaming License, Digital File with DVD Circulation Copy


Single Screening Rental


Educational Purchase DVD (Bluray +$15)


Gallery Exhibition and Installation, complete Media Request form for quote

Institutional Archival Acquisition, complete Media Request form for quote

Curators and programmers, please contact to receive a login and password to preview Vtape titles online.

Screening and exhibition rentals and archival acquisitions include public performance rights; educational purchases or licenses include rights for classroom screenings and library circulation. When placing an order the customer agrees to our general online terms and conditions. Payment (or a purchase order number) and a signed licensing agreement must be received before media can be shipped to the client.