Duration Slice

Manuel Saiz

2008, 03:00 minutes, colour


Installation Documentation, 3 minutes 58 seconds.

The prestissimo part of sonata no 30 in E Major, opus 109 by Beethoven is played by a piano player. But the hands of this pianist, even if playing in perfect synchronicity, belong to different people, one to a young person and the other to a senior. The sonata was one of the three last compositions of Beethoven, written in 1820, when he was 50 years old. It is one of his most important works for a piano solo, due especially to the intricate counterpoint of the piece.

The video is shown next to the piano, being at the same time score, visual echo and sound reflection.

Duration Slice poetically expresses a temporal ellipsis that compresses the duration of a lifetime, its events and places, into a single moment where everything is simultaneous.

Rental and Sales

Single Screening Rental


Educational Purchase DVD (Bluray +$15)


5 Year Educational Streaming License, Digital File with DVD Circulation Copy


Gallery Exhibition and Installation, complete Media Request form for quote

Institutional Archival Acquisition, complete Media Request form for quote

Curators and programmers, please contact to receive a login and password to preview Vtape titles online.

Screening and exhibition rentals and archival acquisitions include public performance rights; educational purchases or licenses include rights for classroom screenings and library circulation. When placing an order the customer agrees to our general online terms and conditions. Payment (or a purchase order number) and a signed licensing agreement must be received before media can be shipped to the client.

Critical Writing

Life and Nothing Else
by Pablo Llorca. Buffer, Apr. 22, 2008.
Manuel Saiz interviewed
by Cecilia Canziani. Parallel Universes, Jan. 2008.